A Little Inspiration

A small spider lives behind the glass of my right wing mirror. Quite often, as I drive to work, I notice that the web, which it must have woven so painstakingly overnight, has been torn to shreds by the rush of air as I motor inexorably onwards (hoping that the working day won’t take a similar toll on me). But it always reappears.

I haven’t used the car much at all over the last couple of weeks, though. Holidays. A quick trip to the local shops now and again. Rich pickings for the spider, you would think. The air alive with innumerable insects, floating heedlessly past the gleaming metal giant on my driveway.

Inevitably, the spider has risen to the challenge. This beautiful creation appeared overnight.

Web

Far be it from me to write about the need to be persistent, resilient and just keep trying again. I’m not very good at that myself. I just wanted to celebrate the beauty of that web, to note that nothing is achieved without hard work, and that it is possible to find inspiration everywhere.

 

Leave a Reply

