May Day Merits

I was going to enthuse about the merits of the May Day Bank Holiday yesterday, but ran out of time. I suspect we’re now expected to call it the Early Spring Bank Holiday, but that doesn’t have quite the same air of joy about it! So why do I rate it so highly?

Firstly, not everyone shares my feelings.

“Too soon after Easter”, say some.

“Useless at this time of year”, say others.

A blessed relief and rest, I believe, especially after an early Easter and a chilly start to spring, which has involved snow and sleet over the past two or three days.

I don’t make a particular effort to go out anywhere on any Bank Holiday Monday, and this one won’t be any different. The real pleasure of a Monday off work is, for me, the way it transforms Sunday. No pressure to prepare for work on Monday morning = pure relaxation.

Long live the May Day Bank hol!

20160501_132459.jpg

Leave a Reply

