One Small Apple

Snapped on my phone one evening a few weeks ago – in great excitement. I had an apple!

Some progress since the great discovery, but not much, though some of the pictures make it look rather like a minor moon orbiting a distant planet.

There’s only one small apple. It’s a better crop (cue laughter) than last year’s, when the blossom was blown away overnight. I don’t think it will win any prizes, but I’m going to make a point of picking and eating it when the moment is right. Not sure about that little spot I can see on it though…

The common theme in my garden, of course, is unintended chaos. However, as a reward for producing this little gem, I will definitely re-pot this apple tree into a more suitable container and try to prune it properly. One good turn…

Link to RHS website page on growing fruit in containers:

http://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=321

Leave a Reply

