Gooseberry or Gooseberry?

I’ve only got one gooseberry plant; it’s in a fairly small container and has been sadly neglected. Every time there’s a hint of a breeze in the wind tunnel that is my garden, it topples over. But now it’s rewarded me with some of its glowing green gems, so I know I have to repay it by finding it a new and safer home.

On the subject of the gooseberry – how to pronounce the word? One of the dictionaries I consulted tells me it’s:

‘gʊzbəri   or   ‘gʊzbri

but it could also be

‘gu:sberi

(Apologies to experts if I’ve typed these inaccurately: it was quite difficult to find the right symbols.) I remember my grandmother using the first pronunciation, but my mum uses the last one, as do I. However you pronounce the word, they’re delicious!

Leave a Reply

