Richard III

A visit to Leicester planned within the next few days.  I had really hoped to witness the procession through the city before the reburial, but had to give up on that when I realised that the dates wouldn’t work for me.  So, the next best thing…

I bought a camera in haste for my last (actually my first) trip there.  Leicester was abuzz with the news that the remains found on the archaeological dig were indeed Richard’s; between the cathedral and the Guildhall there were lengthy queues for a small but fascinating exhibition.  It was cold and grey, and a long wait, but the excitement generated by the discovery kept everyone’s spirits up.  I could hardly believe that the medieval king I had first heard about at school when studying Shakespeare, then read about more deeply in search of the truth, was now at the centre of such events.  History reaches out to grab you.

I took some pictures of the cathedral, the Guildhall and the site of the dig (or as close as I was allowed to get to it). Looking at them now, I can still feel that sense of anticipation on a chilly Leicester afternoon…

Leave a Reply

