Flowers and Old Books

So this is the plan: put up some shelves for the gardening books which, at the moment, are piled up in a corner.

It’s been mooted before, but writing about those poisonous plants and plant names brought it back into focus. Looking along my bookshelves, I’ve found two relatively old books I’d forgotten about or just neglected. One is called ‘The Book of Wildflowers’. I remember seeing it on the bookshelves when I was a child. Only now do I notice that an older relative’s name is written inside it, in faded blue-black ink. Someone (unfortunately I suspect myself here) has crossed boldly through his name in black; my name appears on the following page. Guilty as charged!

The other book is ‘The Observer’s Book of Wild Flowers’. I remember choosing this one myself; it has some clumsy maths workings-out in the back of it, along with some improvements suggested by my mum!

Clearly an interest in flowers was always there, though apparently not much respect for a book as an object; as a young child I used to enjoy writing in my books – personalising them, you could say. That’s why I find it difficult to give away any of my older books: some of them are like little time capsules.

Further to my comments on the book about poisonous plants – someone told me when I bought it a couple of weeks ago that the Poison Garden at Alnwick Castle is well worth a visit.  Unfortunately, I haven’t seen it myself (it wasn’t finished when I went there), but I’d love to go.  Here is a link:

http://www.alnwickgarden.com/explore/whats-here/the-poison-garden/about

Leave a Reply

