So what’s going on in the garden?

Well, not much yet, if the truth be told.  There are some welcome signs of spring: snowdrops and a few other spring flowers popping up.  Not enough sun, though, to bring out the bees or encourage a crocus flower to open. Much mud in place of grass, with the accompanying danger of slipping every time I brave it to hang out the washing!

Last year I bought one single winter aconite flower to plant in the garden (some whimsical thought of an ‘early-spring’ corner); it hasn’t reappeared though, so on impulse I thought I’d try again with some new ones.  There they are, all seven of them, with the snowdrops, bedraggled but alive – just.

The struggling aconites
The struggling aconites.

I know I should have researched them and planned it out properly. Perhaps they’re in the wrong place, or don’t get on with snowdrops.  But when I saw them I couldn’t resist; they bring back memories of the first glimpses of spring on childhood walks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

